EMPYRIUM unveil upcoming studio album details and collected works LP boxset

EMPYRIUM - The Turn of the Tides

Twelve years after their last studio effort “Weiland“, Empyrium, the masters of natural ambiances set to music, return with a much anticipated new album. Notwithstanding their creative break, “The Turn of the Tides” is an Empyrium album par excellence, although it bears strong testimony to the artistic and personal growth Schwadorf and Helm have undergone since 2002. The pre-published songs “The Days Before the Fall” (from the compilation “Whom the Moon a Nightsong Sings“, 2010) and “Dead Winter Ways” (released in November 2013 as a limited vinyl-EP) have already implied that for their new material, Empyrium draw on different forms of musical expression more confidently than ever, yet do not shy away from the wide range their oeuvre has offered so far. Concurrently with the music, the conceptional aspect of “The Turn of the Tides” attests to a mature and evolved elaboration on Empyrium’s essence. Nature and human emotion as reflected in it still remain subject matter of the songs, but here, too, Helm and Schwadorf choose a more abstract approach. “The Turn of the Tides” addresses cycles, both within nature – the tides of the sea, the change of seasons, the eternal circulation of water – as well as human life, and insinuates how everything rediscovers itself in everything. The album will be released on 18th of July 2014 via Prophecy Productions (North-American release date: 22.07.2014) and it is already available for pre-order in the following editions:

- CD in digipak
- CD in hardcover book (ca. 18×18 cm, 48 pages) incl. liner notes and additional artwork; 777 copies available

1. Saviour
2. Dead Winter Ways
3. In The Gutter Of This Spring
4. The Days Before The Fall
5. We Are Alone
6. With The Current Into Grey
7. The Turn Of The Tides

In tandem with “The Turn of the Tides“, the collected works of Empyrium will be released on vinyl as a lavish box set. The box set “1994 – 2014” includes Empyrium’s entire recordings on nine vinyl discs, starting with the demo “…der wie ein Blitz vom Himmel fiel…” right through to the latest album “The Turn of the Tides“, meaning also the four regular studio efforts, the exclusive tracks from the compilation “A Retrospective…” and the “Into the Pantheon” concert. In addition, the box contains seven Empyrium-posters as well as a large-sized booklet with all lyrics (including those from “…der wie ein Blitz…” and “A Wintersunset…“, which have not been published so far).

All components were furnished with a stylish, entirely new layout by Fursy Teyssier (Les Discrets). Moreover, he has drawn new cover artworks on occasion of this release for the classics “A Wintersunset…“, “Songs of Moors And Misty Fields“, “Where at Night the Wood Grouse Plays” and “Weiland“. The box itself is made of pine and beech wood from Empyrium’s home in Rhoen / Franconia and comes with an embossed Empyrium branding. “1994 – 2014” is limited to 500 copies and can be pre-ordered here.

vinyl content:
- …der wie ein Blitz vom Himmel fiel… / A Retrospective… (LP)
- A Wintersunset… (LP)
- Songs Of Moors And Misty Fields (LP)
- Where At Night The Wood Grouse Plays (LP)
- Weiland (2LP with etching)
- Into The Pantheon (2LP with etching)
- The Turn Of The Tides (LP)

Release date: 18.07.2014
North-American release date: 05.08.2014 (not shop, only distribution)

Empyrium official page
Empyrium @ Facebook


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>