KAUAN reveal upcoming album details

KAUAN - Sorni Nai - part

The prolific Russian / Ukrainian post rock / doom outfit returns with its brilliant seventh album in only eight year’s time! “Sorni Nai“, the band’s most mature work to date, is a concept album that references and expands upon territory explored in their previous work “Pirut“, showcasing a single 52-minute long track, twisting through lush string orchestrations into sinister and operatic doom metal. The album’s concept focuses on the infamous Djatlov Pass Incident. In 1959, nine Soviet hikers went on a trip to reach Mt. Ortorten in the Ural Mountains. None of the hikers were seen alive again. Their bodies were found a mile from their campsite, missing their skis, shoes and coats while braving -30°F weather. Two of them had fractured skulls, two had major chest fractures, and one was missing her tongue. Investigators listed the cause of death as “a compelling natural force” and the case was immediately closed.

The artwork by Sonia Melnik is a panorama displaying known imagery of the hikers skiing towards their destination.

KAUAN - Sorni Nai - panorama

The album’s title references the golden goddess of the Ural Mountains’ Mansi region. The band otherwise continues in its tradition of singing exclusively in poetic Finnish, the only known non-native-speaking band outside of Finland to attempt lyrics in the unique Nordic language, one of the most complex in the world. Even though the album is intended to be one single track, the band has split it up into chapters for the CD release, which are titled in the native Mansi language. “Sorni Nai” will be released by the Finnish label Blood Music on October 20th, 2015. It will be available on Vinyl LP, digipak CD and digitally through Bandcamp, iTunes, Spotify, Amazon, etc. Pre-orders will start on August 5th, 2015.

1. Akva
2. Kit
3. Khurum
4. Nila
5. At
6. Khot
7. Sat

Kauan @ Facebook
Kauan @ VK
Kauan @ Bandcamp


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>