HÄIVE unveil upcoming album details

HAIVE - Iaton

Finnish pagan metal band Häive will release its second full-length album on November 24th, 2017 via Eisenwald. Entitled simply “Iätön” (Finnish for “Ageless”), this painstakingly crafted recording represents a true journey into the very soul of the band. Each element of Häive has been taken to the next level; the driving-yet-delicate guitars, impassioned vocals, powerful percussion and deeply thought-through themes, every aspect has been refined further in order to draw the listener into Häive’s world. And as for this world, it is a place of loss and remembrance, winter-stripped trees giving way to the cold bare earth, chill-worn soils that have born witness to the eternal cycles of nature. Life, death, rebirth and renewal, the ageless landscapes of the north have seen it all and its stories dwell deep within, but never forgotten by those who would stop to tell these tales. These are the tales told by Häive across the breadth of this captivating musical opus.

As an expression of sole protagonist Janne ‘Varjosielu’ Väätäinen’s desire to explore themes of nature, despair and oblivion through the medium of folk-influenced black metal, Häive has been in existence for the best part of fifteen years. Across numerous demos, two multi-artist split releases, one full-length album, “Mieli Maassa” in 2007 and one EP “Saimaata ei sanoilla selitä” in 2010, Varjosielu has demonstrated a meticulous, considered approach to delivering his art. Each release is carefully crafted, the musicianship executed with precision and care to ensure that Häive’s singular vision is delivered without compromise.

All music and artwork photos on “Iätön” are by Varjosielu. The album was captured between October 2016 and January 2017 in Ruokolahti, Finland, it was recorded by the band and then mastered by Greg Chandler at Priory Recording Studios, UK. The album was designed by Misanthropic Art with handwritten songtitles by Marie Nosper. The new Häive logo is drawn by Christophe Szpajdel. “Iätön” is set for a release on November 24th on CD, tape and digital formats, while on December 1st it will be also released on vinyl. It is already available for pre-order in Eisenwald’s webstore and in the band’s official Bandcamp page, where you can also listen to the song “Turma” from the upcoming album.

1. Iätön (Ageless)
2. Turma (Ruin)
3. Lapin Kouta (Kouta from Lapland)
4. Kuku, kultainen käkeni (Sing My Golden Bird)
5. Tuulen sanat (The Spell of Wind)
6. Salojen saari (Esoteric Isle)
7. Tuonen lehto, öinen lehto (Grove of Tuoni, Grove of Evening)
8. Virsi tammikuinen (Song of January)

Häive @ Facebook
Häive @ Bandcamp


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>