GRIMNER unveil upcoming album details

GRIMNER - Vanadrottning

Swedish Viking folk metallers Grimner from Motala will release their third full-length album “Vanadrottning” on February 9th, 2018 through Despotz Records! “Vanadrottning” translates to “Queen of the Vanir“, referring to the goddess Gullveig from the Norse mythology. She is known mostly from the tale of the war between the Aesir and the Vanir, when she was captured and burned alive by Oden and his herd. Each time they burned her she would be born anew, dying three times and resurrected three times, each time in immense agony. This album gives a new touch to their discography: a more heavy, powerful and rhythmic sound, together with a fantastic voice brought by their new member Martin. One can expect a dynamic, fresh and thrilling album, where the band is pushing the boundaries and takes the music to a new level. With “Vanadrottning” and their 10th anniversary celebrations, the Grimner Vikings continue their journey towards new adventures!

Grimner have already unveiled the cover artwork made by Mattias Frisk at Metal Album Art, as well as the album tracklist. Pre-sale for “Vanadrottning” is already available at Despotz Records webshop in several awesome packages with exclusive Grimner goodies. The band says: “This album has been an absolute joy to create, but like the goddess Gullveig, we have also endured a great deal of pain for it. We hope you will love the album as much as we ourselves do!”. Grimner have also released the first single track “En Fallen Jätte” from their upcoming album, that you can listen to below. The song title translates to “A Fallen Giant” and tells of the battle between Thor and the stone-hearted giant Hrungner, who in the end was crushed by the power of the thunder god’s hammer Mjölner, and reduced to a pile of rubble! On January 12th, 2018 Grimner will also release a music video for this song!

1. Vanadrottning
2. Avundas Hennes Ungdom
3. En Fallen Jätte
4. Kvällningssång
5. En Vilja Av Järn
6. Fafnersbane
7. Vårt Blod, Våra Liv
8. Dödens Dans
9. Ägers Salar
10. Sången Om Grimner
11. Freja Vakar (bonus track)

Grimner official page
Grimner @ Facebook
Grimner @ Twitter
Grimner @ Bandcamp


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>