MAEL MÓRDHA reveal new album details

MAEL MORDHA - Damned When Dead

Irish Gaelic doom metal band Mael Mórdha has completed work on its fourth full-length album “Damned When Dead“, scheduled for release on September 16th via Candlelight Records. The follow up to 2010’s “Manannan” is the band’s first album as a four piece, following the departure of guitarist Anthony Lindsay in 2011. The album was recorded at Foel Studios in Wales, produced by Chris Fielding (Winterfylleth, Electric Wizard, Mourning Beloveth) and mastered by Jaime Gomez Arellano (Ghost, Angel Witch, Primordial). ”Damned When Dead” contains eight tracks in total and continues the conceptual themes of the band’s previous work, which fuses historical and mythological tales of ancient Ireland. The band has revealed the amazing cover artwork painted by Vasileious Zicos and the album tracklist.

Frontman Roibeard O Bogail said: “We are really proud of how this one turned out. It took a lot longer than expected but we feel it’s a further evolution in terms of the band’s song writing and the unique Mael Mórdha sound. It’s also a little bit darker and takes our music into some interesting new areas. There is a bleakness to it in places but also some crushing heaviness, galloping riffs and emotive melodies. We’ve already played a couple of the tracks live and they’ve gone down really well, so we can’t wait for people to hear the whole thing and get more of the songs into our live set.

01. Laudabiliter
02. King of the English
03. Dawning of the Grey
04. All Eire will Quake
05. Bloody Alice (of Abergavenny)
06. The Sacking of the Vedrafjord
07. A Dirge
08. Damned When Dead

Mael Mórdha @ Facebook


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>