MYRKUR will soon release debut EP

MYRKUR - Myrkur

Emerging from the darkness of Scandinavia comes the much anticipated debut EP by one-woman black metal band Myrkur from Denmark. Combining the rawness of second wave black metal bands like Ulver and Darkthrone with the natural sonic beauty of Sigur Ros, Myrkur has created a wholly unique perspective on the genre. With a distinct sense of Nordic isolation, Myrkur’s debut is a feminine yet definitively brutal record that has burst onto the scene like a Valkyrie into battle. “I always dreamed about becoming a Huldra, an elf girl, a Valkyrie, the goddess Freja. These powerful women in Norse Mythology have an element of beauty and mystique, but they are also deadly” Myrkur explains. She elaborates: “Nature is a big part of the reason black metal even exists. And all types of pure music that comes from a pure place. The word ‘Myrkur’ means ‘Darkness’ in Icelandic. The place where there are no boundaries, where no one can hurt me. And when I have sung the screams, it physically hurts, but it feels like something is leaving my body. I can’t remember it afterwards“. Myrkur signed to renowned independent label, Relapse Records and her eponymous debut EP “Myrkur” will be released on 16th of September 2014 in digipak CD and black vinyl. It is already available for pre-order in her label’s web-shop. You can watch the short teaser film for the EP below.

1. Ravnens Banner
2. Frosne Vind
3. Må Du Brænde i Helvede
4. Latvian Fegurð
5. Dybt i Skoven
6. Nattens Barn
7. Ulvesangen

Myrkur @ Facebook
Myrkur @ Bandcamp


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>