EЇS (ex-GEЇST) unveil new album details

EIS - Wetterkreuz

Three years have passed since the release of the third album “Galeere“. To Eïs, it was a period of vital changes. Not only did the band have to suffer an enforced name change from Geïst to Eïs in 2010; at the end of 2011 the musicians also parted company. Vocalist Cypher D. Rex and both guitarists Hedrykk and Zyan left the band to spend their time on their own projects. Forming members Alboin and Marlek, feeling the desire to sharpen their artistic vision of atmospheric Black Metal, decided to continue under the name of Eïs.  “Wetterkreuz” is a sort of transposition of this time of change. Created in the winter of 2011/2012 and recorded in April, 2012 in Studio E, “Wetterkreuz” is a conscious reduction to everything that constituted Eïs in the vision of the two musicians: feeling, atmosphere, tradition. The five tracks are clearly influenced by Scandinavian Black Metal of the mid-Nineties, something that isn’t only apparent in main song-writer Alboin’s style of composing and arranging. Also in terms of production, the band and producer Markus Stock (Empyrium, The Vision Bleak etc.) have consciously decided against an over-indulgence in modern studio techniques in order to give “Wetterkreuz” a forceful, yet raw, piercingly cold, and natural sound.

All this is in keeping with the title and the lyrical content of “Wetterkreuz” – while “Galeere” was all influenced by the stormy, indomitable sea, “Wetterkreuz” creates images of slopes covered with glistening snow and barren rocks, threatening chasms and mossy ravines, loss and all-encompassing decline in a deeply metaphorical language, culminating in the most personal lyrics in the band’s history to date. Eïs’ fourth album “Wetterkreuz” will be released on September 28th via Prophecy Productions.

From now on, it can be pre-ordered in four different versions from Prophecy’s online shop:
-Jewelcase CD: Budget edition with 8-page booklet and no extras.
-Ltd. digibook 2CD: Premium edition in noble digibook with extended 20-page booklet and including bonus track (Sun Of The Sleepless cover song) + bonus CD with remixes of the full album. Limited to 850 copies.
-Ltd. metal case 2CD: Collector’s edition in metal case with engraved emblem including 2CD digibook with 20-page booklet plus emblem patch and certificate. Limited to 150 copies.
-Ltd. gatefold LP: Vinyl edition on heavy 180g vinyl with poster and PVC protection sleeve, including bonus track (Sun Of The Sleepless cover song). Limited to 500 copies.

Eis @ Facebook
Eïs @ Myspace


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>