SKÁLMÖLD reveal cover artwork, tracklist and new album concept

SKALMOLD - Born Loka

Skálmöld is a Viking metal band from Iceland that did not bask in the fame earned for their highly acclaimed debut “Baldur“, but started to work on new songs immediately after returning from their tour. “Börn Loka” (Loki’s Children) is a concept album that focuses on the story of the siblings Hilmar and Brynhildur. In order to achieve honor as a Viking warrior, Hilmar has to embark on a perilous journey, fight terrifying beasts and possibly make the biggest sacrifice imaginable. Skálmöld’s characteristic Viking metal serves as the soundtrack for this journey. This time, the Icelandic musicians even added a classical choir and the unique voice of Edda Tegeder (Angist) to their rich soundscapes. The raw yet melodic tunes combined with the epic story of Hilmar result in a sweeping mix that goes right under skin and captivates the listener’s imagination. The artwork was done by Samuli Ponsimaa (Finntroll) who translates the mood of the story beautifully into the visual medium. “Börn Loka” is an original and profound long-player, that fills the legends of the North with new life! It will be released by Napalm Records on October 26th, 2012. The limited first edition digipak will include a bonus track.

1. Óðinn
2. Sleipnir
3. Gleipnir
4. Fenrisúlfur
5. Himinhrjóður
6. Miðgarðsormur
7. Narfi
8. Hel
9. Váli
10. Loki
11. Eldur (Fire) / part 4 of Millennium Songs (Bonus Track)

Skálmöld @ Facebook


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>