ERED WETHRIN reveal debut album details

ERED WETHRIN - Tides of War

Ered Wethrin is an epic, fantasy-themed symphonic black metal one man band from Salt Lake City, Utah, USA. It is the third band from this area, besides Caladan Brood and Gallowbraid that signs with the German label Northern Silence! Their album “Tides of War” will be released on February 14th, 2014 in 4-page digipak with 8-page booklet and golden disc, limited to 900 copies. Their music may remind the listener of Caladan Brood or Summoning. While the lyrics also deal with epic fantasy themes (Horus Heresy, Black Company, Malazan Book of the Fallen, etc.), the style of the music tends more towards the Scandinavian symphonic black metal of the 90s on the one hand, as well as more “classic” black metal with occasional keyboards on the other. Ultimately, Ered Wethrin focuses on riffs and lyrics to evoke feelings that go with triumphant victory and the cost of its attainment, to bitter defeat and despair, to a melancholic solace that can permeate moods in the wake of a grandiose and epic calamity. The band was started as a solo-project in 2004, and remains this way to this day. The songs on “Tides of War” are, for the most part, material that has been written during these earlier years of the project’s existence. Ered Wethrin have already revealed the album artwork and tracklist and you can listen to one of their songs in the playlist of Northern Silence’s webpage.

1. Frozen Rivers ( 9:40 )
2. Frigid Tides ( 9:56 )
3. Bloody Annals and Brooding Skies ( 10:28 )
4. Into the Stars ( 11:40 )
5. Realm of the Tyrant ( 5:06 )
6. Requiem for the Fallen ( 14:18 )
7. Stellar Graveyard ( 6:34 )

Ered Wethrin @ Facebook


One Response to ERED WETHRIN reveal debut album details

  1. Eagerly awaiting this album! February 14th cannot come quick enough.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>